Tilt A Whirl

Dark River : Songs of the Civil War.

Posted on 8.21.11 in

The Dark River project is a collection of classic public-domain material from the Civil War era interpreted by some of Austin’s finest singer/songwriters. It begins with a young man on his way to the battle of Shiloh, through the years of blood and glory and concludes on the streets of Laredo. Produced by Chuck Pinnell and featuring great artists like Slaid Cleaves, Jon Dee Graham, Jeff Plankenhorn, Drew Nelson, Eliza Gilkyson, and many more, Dark River’s stunning performances and arrangements present a vibrant narrative about America’s most convulsive decade.

Dark River will be released by Blue Corn Music September 13th, 2011, and will be available through Amazon, iTunes, and other major music retailers.

Track Listing:
1. Shiloh – Warren Hood
2. Hard Times – Drew Nelson
3. Swing Low – Rebecca Folsom and Celeste Krenz
4. She Moved Through the Fair – Slaid Cleaves
5. Johnny Has Gone for a Soldier – Erin Ivey
6. The Last Rose of Summer – Chuck Pinnell
7. Lorena – Jimmy LaFave
8. Oh! Susanna – Suzi Stern
9. Jack of Diamonds – Jon Dee Graham
10. Colorado Trail – Eliza Gilkyson
11. The Yellow Rose of Texas – Rich Brotherton
12. Red River Valley – James McMurtry
13. I Ride an Old Paint – Rita Hosking
14. The Streets of Laredo – Slaid Cleaves
15. Home, Sweet Home – Jeff Plankenhorn


Copyright 2012, Drew Nelson Singer / Songwriter
Available on Red House Records