Tilt A Whirl

Drew Nelson wins best local song, album of the year at 2010 Jammie Awards

Posted on 2.17.10 in

Katy Batdorff | The Grand Rapids Press Drew Nelson performs at the Annual WYCE-FM Jammie Awards show at The Intersection on Tuesday evening. Nelson won for best local song and best local album of the year.

By John Sinkevics | The Grand Rapids Press

February 17, 2010, 7:26AM

GRAND RAPIDS — Traveling the “dusty road” for late-night gigs, long recording sessions and overseas tours has paid off for Grand Rapids singer-songwriter Drew Nelson.

Nelson was the big winner at Tuesday night’s Jammie Awards hosted by community radio station WYCE-FM at The Intersection, walking off with Album of the Year honors for his “Dusty Road to Beulah Land” CD and Song of the Year for “Waiting for the Sun.”

But in a night filled with a celebration of Michigan’s best music, Nelson, 38, was characteristically thrilled just to be part of the show, sharing the stage with many exceptional musicians and songwriters, from blues guitarist Greg Nagy (best new solo artist) to inventive rock act Chance Jones (best alternative album) to jazz’s rousing Groove Merchant (best jazz album).

“It’s the recognition of your peers. It’s huge,” Nelson said. “When your hometown recognizes you, it’s real special.”

That attitude was typical of many musicians who were among the hundreds of fans wedging their way into the nightclub for performances and award presentations as part of the 11th annual Jammies. Even those without a nominated album for 2009 couldn’t resist being part of the musical affair.

“It’s a chance to see local musicians get the red carpet treatment,” acknowledged singer-songwriter Chris Andrus, who’s finishing up a solo album at the studios of Mackinaw Harvest Music.

As WYCE music director Pete Bruinsma put it, it was an excuse for many bands and artists to see emerging groups they might not otherwise get a chance to see.

“I have a list in my head of people I want to see,” Nelson said. “It’s a place to discover new people.”

Nelson’s win Tuesday follows his selection in January as The Press’ Local Spin of the Year.

WYCE doled out awards in 15 local categories based on voting by the radio station’s 80-plus programmers, along with its people’s choice awards for Best New Artist and Best Overall Artist, determined by online fan voting. Those honors went to rock group Bowery, led by Phill Kulas and Shanee Laurent, which last year released its debut album, “Our Love is a Ghost.”

In a tie, programmers voted The Fainting Generals and Cookie Bumstead, both rock bands with an innovative flair, as Best New Group of 2009.


2010 Jammie Awards

WYCE-FM presented its awards for best local music of the year Tuesday night in a star-studded affair at The Intersection. Here are the winners:

Best local album of the year
Drew Nelson, “Dusty Road to Beulah Land”

Best local song of the year
Drew Nelson, “Waiting for the Sun”

Best new solo artist
Greg Nagy, “Walk That Fine Thin Line”

Best male solo artist
Michael Riley, “Michael Riley”

Best female solo artist
May Erlewine, “Love Labor”

Best instrumental album
Paucity, “Deer Bird Bear Ship”

Best traditional artist/group
An Dro, “The Turn”

Best contemporary duo or group
Sweet Japonic, “Where My Devils Go”

Best new group (tie)
Cookie Bumstead, The Fainting Generals

Best blues album
Thirsty Perch Blues Band, “Meet the Thirsty Perch Blues Band”

Best jazz album
Groove Merchant, “Groove Merchant”

Best jam or funk album
Nomo, “Invisible Cities”

Best alternative or electronic album
Chance Jones, “The Incident at Primrose and West”

Best various artists album
“Grand Rapids Compilation 4.0”

Best record label
Earthwork Music

People’s choice award for best new album and best overall
Bowery, “Our Love is a Ghost” (online fan voting)

[stream provider=youtube flv=http%3A//www.youtube.com/watch%3Fv%3DYWAEcN7dYoo img=x:/img.youtube.com/vi/YWAEcN7dYoo/0.jpg embed=false share=false width=440 height=253 dock=true controlbar=over bandwidth=high autostart=false /]

Hi Everyone

Posted on 2.12.10 in

I wanted to take a moment and welcome you to the new website.  My friend David McGowan of humanfiles.com has been working overtime to make this an interactive place where you can watch videos, check out tour pictures, read about my life on the road as a performing songwriter and find out when I’m coming back to your town to play.

A couple of the coolest features are the comments section where you can leave your thoughts.. and the ‘share’ button on the videos where you can just click and add them to your Facebook or what ever social media you wish.

Come on in, Look around and check back often as we will be adding more content over the next few weeks.

All my best,


P.S.  If you need a really incredible designer (both web or graphic), master photographer… please consider my friend David.  He is so talented and a pretty swell guy.  He can be reached through his website humanfiles.com.


Copyright 2012, Drew Nelson Singer / Songwriter
Available on Red House Records